An engaged Alaskan democracy

Bristol Bay Forever

Video from the August 13th forum thanks to Alaska Commons.

Ballot Measure 4: An Act Providing for Protection of Bristol Bay Wild Salmon and Waters Within or Flowing into the Existing 1972 Bristol Bay Fisheries Reserve

Alaska Division of Elections ballot measure language
Attorney General’s review of petition language


Dick Mylius – Former Director of the Division of Mining, Land, and Water of the Department of Natural Resources and Alaska Common Ground board member.
Powerpoint Presentation.

Advocating “Yes” Vote

Christina Salmon – Initiative Sponsor

Anders Gustafson – Executive Director of Renewable Resources Coalition
Powerpoint presentation

Advocating “No” Vote

Deantha Crockett – Executive Director. Alaska Miners Association
Powerpoint presentation

Richard Hughes – mining engineer
Powerpoint presentation

Biographies of the participants

Organizations with information on the initiative:

Bristol Bay Forever:

Renewable Resources Coalition:

Bristol Bay Native Corporation Pebble Watch:

Alaska Miners Association:

News articles:

Alaska Supreme Court Clears Bristol Bay Initiative For Ballot (APRN – June 23, 2014):

State Supreme Court Hears Case to Remove Pebble Initiative From Ballot (APRN, June 11, 2014):

Alaska Public Media – Bristol Bay Forever Initiative Survives Challenge in Court:

Lt. Governor Treadwell Certifies Citizen Initiative (Press Release):

These forums are cosponsored by:

  • Alaska Integrated Media (AIM)

  • Anchorage Public Library

  • League of Women Voters of Alaska

  • League of Women Voters of Anchorage