An engaged Alaskan democracy

Alaska’s Changing Climate forum presentations

Setting the Climate Change Stage – Libby Roderick, Associate Director, Center for Faculty Excellence, UAA

Overview of the Science of Climate Change in Alaska Dr. Jeremy Littell, Lead Research Scientist, USGS Alaska Climate Science Center

Impacts of Climate Change in Alaska

Keynote AddressBill Ross, Former Alaska DEC Commissioner, Principal of Ross Strategic

Alaska State Policy Makers’ Panel

  • Larry Hartig, Commissioner of the Alaska Dept. of Environmental Conservation
  • Craig Fleener, Special Assistant on Arctic Policy, Governor’s Office
  • Kate Troll, Member of Gov. Palin’s Mitigation Advisory Group

Alaska Community Leaders’ Panel

  • Ethan Berkowitz, Mayor of Anchorage
  • Beth Wythe, Mayor of Homer
  • Reggie Joule, Former Mayor of NW Borough

Alaska Citizens’ Panel

  • Shaina Kilcoyne, Renewable Energy Alaska Project
  • George Donart, Citizens Climate Change Lobby
  • Faith Gemmill, REDOIL, Resisting Environmental Destruction on Indigenous Lands

Young Alaskans’ Panel

  • Maka Monture, Indigenous Fellow at Alaska Center for the Environment
  • Xavier Mason, President, NAACP Youth Panel
  • Vika Morozova, President of Anchorage AYEA chapter, Alaska Youth for Environmental Action

UAA Public Administration Graduate Students present